TheNFAPost Podcast

Dr. Prathap Chandra Reddy to be honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award

An eminent nine-member Jury, led by Uday Kotak, selected the 14 Finalists

The 14 Finalists, including Unicorns and a Decacorn have a combined revenue of over INR 52,000 crores and employ more than 1,10,000 people

The Jury commends the unstoppable Finalists for their resilience, ability to adapt and act fast, innovation, customer-centricity, technology focus, agility and creating a societal impact 

EY, the leading global professional services organisation, announced selection of 14 of the most exceptional entrepreneurs as Finalists for the 22nd Entrepreneur of the Year™ – India (EOY) 2020 Awards.

The Finalists have been selected from among over 190 outstanding nominations and will be felicitated at a celebratory virtual awards ceremony on 25 March 2021.

The winner of the Entrepreneur of the Year Award from India will represent the country at the EY World Entrepreneur of the Year Award (WEOY) on 10 June 2021.

In the virtual ceremony, winners will be announced across several categories. The evening also comprises an insightful panel discussion where panellists and former World Entrepreneur of the Year™ awardees from India will share their personal entrepreneurial lessons.

This exclusive discussion will be hosted at the 2020 virtual awards ceremony to be telecast live starting 7 p.m. on 25 March 2021.

Together, the 14 Finalists including Unicorns and a Decacorn have combined revenues of Rs 52,000 crores and are providing employment to more than 1,10,000 people.

Underscoring their resilience, the Finalists also reported significantly stronger financial performance in times when global and domestic economic growth rates have been tepid.

The Finalists were selected by an eminent nine-member independent Jury Panel led by Uday Kotak, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, Kotak Mahindra Bank. Other Jury Members include Dr. Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw, Chairperson, Biocon, Neeraj Bharadwaj, Managing Director, Carlyle India Advisors, Jalaj Dani, Co-Promoter. Asian Paints, Amit Dixit, Co-Head of Asia Acquisitions, and Head of India, Blackstone Private Equity, Deep Kalra, Founder and Group Executive Chairman, MakeMyTrip, Rajnish Kumar, Former Chairman, State Bank of India, Rishad Premji, Chairman, Wipro and Gopal Srinivasan, Founder, Chairman and Managing Director, TVS Capital Funds.

Jury Chairman and Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, Kotak Mahindra Bank Uday Kotak says Indian entrepreneurship has come of age.

“We see budding entrepreneurs from startups to established companies. There are many awards in this country for recognizing businessman, but EOY looks at entrepreneurship as the key lens through which persons and businesses are evaluated,” said Uday Kotak.

He also said the judging process this year was unique as EY team assessed the candidates for their ability to carve out a different future from the present.

“I would like to commend the 14 Finalists for their differentiated business models, bold vision, resilience, innovative thinking, determination to succeed and the ability to build sustainable businesses against all odds,” said Uday Kotak.

The Jury considered a host of criterion including the nominee’s entrepreneurial spirit, ability to navigate through Covid-19, recent financial performance, strategic direction, product or service innovation, company leadership including personal integrity and risk-taking abilities, corporate governance, values, and involvement with the community.

The 14 Finalists for the EY Entrepreneur of the Year™ 2020 India Awards are:

  • Ameera Shah, Managing Director, Metropolis Healthcare Ltd
  • Byju Raveendran, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Think & Learn Pvt. Ltd. (BYJU’S)
  • Darshan Patel, Chairman and Managing Director, Vini Cosmetics Pvt Ltd
  • Deepak Mehta, Chairman and Managing Director, Deepak Nitrite Ltd (DNL)
  • Dinesh Agarwal, Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director, Indiamart InterMESH Ltd (Indiamart)
  • Harsh C. Mariwala, Chairman, Marico Ltd
  • Peyush Bansal, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Lenskart Solutions Pvt Ltd
  • Samrath Bedi and Mira Kulkarni, Executive Director / Founder and Managing Director, Mountain Valley Springs India Pvt Ltd (Forest Essentials)
  • Srinivas Sadu, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, Gland Pharma Ltd
  • Sunil Vachani, Executive Chairman, Dixon Technologies (India) Ltd
  • Suresh Narayanan, Chairman and Managing Director, Nestle India Ltd
  • Sushil Kumar Agarwal, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, Aavas Financiers Ltd (AFL)
  • Vikram Chopra, Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Cars24 Services Pvt Ltd
  • Virendra Kumar Gupta and Umang Bedi, Founder and Chief Executive Officer / President, VerSe Innovation Pvt Ltd (Dailyhunt)

Click here for more information on the Finalists.

Dr. Prathap Chandra Reddy, Founder and Executive Chairman, Apollo Hospitals Enterprise Ltd will be felicitated with the Lifetime Achievement Award. Dr. Reddy is widely recognized as the architect of modern Indian healthcare.

He is also associated with several philanthropic contributions in healthcare such as the Save a Child’s Heart Initiative to address the widespread issue of congenital heart disease in India.

EY India Chairman Rajiv Memani says EY Entrepreneur of the Year 2020 Finalists have shaped new paradigms in their sectors.

“With innovation, boldness and execution excellence, they have created differentiated and compelling proposition for their customers. I congratulate each one of these exceptional entrepreneurs, who are focused on creating lasting value for their stakeholders,” said Rajiv Memani.

Create success

EY Partner and EOY India Programme Leader Farokh Balsara said  EOY Finalists have showcased the ability to adapt and act fast to create success in this new world order.

“They are taking risks with bold new ideas, investing and building profitable enterprises with profound positive impact on industries, societies and individual lives. They are truly the unstoppable entrepreneurs transforming India. Selected by an eminent Jury, each of our EOY 2020 Finalists are exceptional entrepreneurs and winners in their own right,” said Farokh Balsara.

The past winners of the EY Entrepreneur of the Year India Awards include Dr. Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw (Biocon), Siddhartha Lal, (Eicher Motors), Sanjiv Bajaj (Bajaj Finserv), Vivek Chaand Sehgal (Samvardhana Motherson Group), Vinita and Nilesh Gupta (Lupin Limited), Uday Kotak (Kotak Mahindra Bank), Adi Godrej (Godrej Group), Rahul Bhatia (Interglobe Enterprises), Dilip Shanghvi (Sun Pharmaceuticals),  Anand Mahindra (Mahindra Group), Anil Agarwal (Vedanta Resources), Tulsi Tanti (Suzlon Energy), Kumar Mangalam Birla (Aditya Birla Group), Sunil Bharti Mittal (Bharti Group), Ratan Tata (Tata Group), N.R Narayana Murthy (Infosys), Brijmohan Lall Munjal (Hero Group), Mukesh Ambani (Reliance Industries) and Subhash Chandra (Zee Telefilms).

Previous articleAfter The Exit Of Chinese Investor, Koo’s Now Atma Nirbhar App
Next articleDell Technologies Powers AI, Edge Computing With Next Generation PowerEdge Servers


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here