TheNFAPost Podcast

Hyderabad, NFAPost: Pune’s Muhammad Ibrahim sparkled in Round two of the Mumbai Falcons Indian e-Racing Championship, in association with Volkswagen Motorsport India, stunning Amith Kutti of Chennai and winning both his Pro Class races.

Ibrahim, who is currently competing from Kuala Lumpur and famously ran in the top five of the World Rotax Karting Finals recently and was a runner-up in the Asian Rotax Championship too, stamped his authority right from the word go.

He bagged pole, with a lap-time of 1:47.778, ahead of Ooty’s Niranjan Kumar. Season 2 Champion Sai Prithvi was third while Kutti could manage only fourth on the grid, ahead of Ankit Tyagi.

As the lights went out for Race 1 at the famed Nurburgring Circuit, Ibrahim made an excellent start to hold on to his lead. Kutti, from fourth, made a daring lunge into Corner 1 to jump to second place.

Ibrahim pulled away and cruised to victory ahead of Kutti and Prithvi. Raghav Budhiraja (Delhi) and Abdul Hadi (Thrissur) drove smartly to move up from 14th & 15th to complete the Top Five.

Pole setter

Race 2 saw carnage on the first corner after pole-sitter Viswas Vijayraj turned into Niranjan Kumar, causing over 8 cars to suffer damage, and deployment of the safety car. Ibrahim took full advantage of this to win ahead of Kutti and Chevlyn Fernandes (Mumbai). Sai Prithvi & Niranjan Kumar completed the top five.

Sirish Vissa, Head of Volkswagen Motorsport India said, “The series has been remarkable with strong performance from Muhammad Ibrahim and the racers leading on the point table. The fight for the first spot was most exciting and enthralling.”

He further added, “It is our conscious effort to provide a level playing field even virtually. The cut-throat competition witnessed throughout the championship is a testimony to that fact.” 

Lead race

For the second round in a row in the Junior Class, Sayee Saran (Chennai) started from pole. He made a good start to lead the race ahead of Ujjwal Belwarier (Bangalore) & Garvit Agrawal (Gurgaon).

A thrilling three-car battle for the lead ensued for most of the race, before Saran lost the lead. Belwarier won ahead of Avinash Gupta (Kalimpong) and Agrawal.

Six-time World Guinness record holder and winner of 11 motorsport titles, Ronny Wechselberger was one of the guest racers. A technical issue saw him skip Race 1 and he moved up from twentieth on the grid to finish a creditable ninth in Race 2. Macau’s Frederico Joaquin finished ninth in Race 1. 

Pro Race 1
PositionCar NoNameCityStart Pos.
133Muhammad IbrahimPune1
211Amith KuttiChennai4
312Sai PrithviChennai3
463Raghav BudhirajaNew Delhi14
517Abdul HadiThrissur15
Pro Race 2
PositionCar NoNameCityStart Pos.
133Muhammad IbrahimPune11
216Amith KuttiChennai10
320Chevlyn FernandesMumbai5
412Sai PrithviChennai9
598Niranjan KumarOoty2
Junior  Race
PositionCar NoNameCityStart Pos.
119Ujjwal BelwarierBangalore2
230Avinash GuptaKalimpong4
313Garvit AgrawalMunich3
410Aditya IyerPune11
57Jahaan NobleMumbai9
Pro Championship
PositionCar NoNameCityPoints
116Amith KuttiChennai194
212Sai PrithviChennai135
320Chevlyn FernandesMumbai113
446Ankit TyagiSonipat111
533Muhammad IbrahimPune106
Junior  Championship
PositionCar NoNameCityStart Pos.
119Ujjwal BelwarierBangalore104
230Avinash GuptaKalimpong88
310Aditya IyerPune76
433Sayee SaranChennai70
513Garvit AgrawalGurgaon57


Previous articleIndian Railways Boost In Rail Connectivity To North East
Next articleL&T Technology Services expands collaboration with Microsoft


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here